Which federal agencies participate in the SBIR/STTR programs?

As of July 2017, there are 11 federal agencies that participate in the SBIR/STTR programs. By law, any agency with more than $100m in research and development budget must allocate 3.2% (FY2017 budget) of their budget towards SBIR/STTR grants.

Following is a list of federal agencies (current as of February 2020, via the sbir.gov website).

  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce - National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Department of Commerce - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Department of Defese
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Transportation
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • National Science Foundation 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful



Please sign in to leave a comment.

Have more questions?
Submit a request
Share it, if you like it.