Which federal agencies participate in the SBIR/STTR programs?

As of July 2017, there are 11 federal agencies that participate in the SBIR/STTR programs. By law, any agency with more than $100m in research and development budget must allocate 3.2% (FY2017 budget) of their budget towards SBIR/STTR grants.

Following is a list of federal agencies (current as of February 2020, via the sbir.gov website).

  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce - National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Department of Commerce - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Department of Defese
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Transportation
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • National Science Foundation 
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful



Please sign in to leave a comment.

This website and all posts and content are intended for educational purposes only and for no other purposes including without limitation commercial purposes. Any other use must give proper attribution to the Martin Trust Center and is subject to certain legal rights contained in our license and terms of use. See full legal disclaimer HERE .
The content in this knowledgebase is subject to a non-exclusive license with share-alike restrictions and the terms of use of this site – which is available for your review HERE .

Have more questions?
Submit a request
Share it, if you like it.